top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Escape Hunt Bristol Reviews - 2019 - 2021

Over 2 years ago I did my first ever major escape room in Bristol: Worlds Collide: a Doctor Who live escape game. It's theming, acting & set design were all STUNNING and we loved it so much, so we booked 2 more in a different location. I have a lot of stories to tell from those 2 (we had some... technical difficulties) but I'll go into those in a future post. Anyway, Worlds Collide was the best we did by far so on our next trip back down to Bristol we went back to Escape Hunt in Bristol.


Escape hunt Bristol is located in Cabot Circus shopping centre in Bristol city centre. They are home to 4 indoor escape rooms & host 2 outdoor games. So far I've done 3 escape rooms and not yet tried their outdoor games. I'll review each room separately on challenges, storyline and room design ( i'll try not to spoil the challenges!) and then do a bit of a comparison before some last notes. Let's get into it!


Doctor Who - Worlds Collide:

The first room I tried with escape hunt, Doctor Who - Worlds Collide was definitely my favourite. With such an in depth storyline, short acted out section before entering (was over 2 years ago when I tried this room, not sure if they do it anymore.) and beautiful rooms, it was so immersive and realistic, especially compared to the show. I'm not a big Dr Who watcher but I've seen enough to understand the basic premise. I won't spoil the rooms, but overall there was a great mix of logic challenges, physical challenges and other varied skill challenges as well as some common sense in general to understand how to get around. My favourite room was 100% the last one, I loved all the audio and other effects that went off as things went on around you. We escaped all 3 rooms, with this one having the second longest time at 49:04 out of 60:00.


Blackbeard's Treasure:

The second room we did was on our next trip down to Bristol. Blackbeard's treasure was slightly harder than Worlds Collide, which was certainly slightly surprising as in general for me, the more rooms you do with the same company, the easier they get. We found this one a bit harder (not much, we still got out in ok time) so it was more interesting. It featured very similar style varied challenges; just themed to the room's story about pirates instead of Dr Who. The difference was I felt this room had much more hard to grasp/generally more difficult puzzles and games, with many i was completely unable to help and just watched or checked the time. The first few challenges were my favourite in this room, with lots to do all at once so everyone could get involved. A problem I've always found when in smaller rooms with lower group caps (e.g max 6 people instead of the average 8) it can be hard for everyone to get involved, but Escape Hunt were always really good with this. We escaped Blackbeard's Treasure in 53:53 out of 60:00.


The Fourth Samurai:

The most recent room we tried in Bristol was The Fourth Samurai, a roomed themed to the stories of ancient warriors. It had a very interesting theme I don't see very often but they still managed a very believable and well made room for the escape. It was a lot easier after we'd done 2 previous at the same location, so i think that.. not ruined.. just.. altered the experience compared to anyone trying out an Escape room or and Escape Hunt room for the first time. There was an obvious different audience for this room, with a much larger ratio of physical challenges to other logic puzzles than the other rooms. The decoration of these rooms along with the mythological type paintings/prints up on the wall were beautiful, reminded me very much of the kind of thing you'd find in a theme park queue. We had the shortest time for this room at 40:10 out of 60:00.


I have overall loved all 3 rooms we have completed at Escape Hunt, with Worlds Collide being my favourite as i said. I can't wait to finally check out the last room - Our Finest Hour , next time I visit next year. What should I try after?


What do you think of escape rooms? What locations/companied have your favourite ones? Thank you very much for reading, I'll see u next time!

Cleo x

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page