top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

B&M Coasters - Ranking 2020

Updated: Feb 3, 2021

I've only ridden 9 B&M coasters, but the ones I have ridden are all incredible. 4 of these make it into my top 10, with the lowest ranking of all of them was at 31 (I

will mention why later). B&M are my favourite manufacturer. Always creating incredible quality rides, with great throughputs and comfortable seats and restraints.


9. Dragon Khan, Portaventura

Don't get be wrong, Dragon Khan isn't a bad ride but it just isn't as good as the others on this list. It is a B&M sit down coaster located at Portaventura world in Spain. The coaster opened in 1995, so is relatively old making it a very rough and uncomfortable ride. But i have a soft spot for multi-inversion coasters like this (and Smiler) so still love it.


8. Nemesis Inferno, Thorpe Park

For some reason, this season I've enjoyed Nemesis Inferno a lot less than I used to. It isn't rough, I just have found it significantly less forceful than I used to. I have always preferred it to Inferno, and am sure I always will, but both B&M inverts and flyers never seem to do anything new or significantly different that others like them and I think that is why Inferno and other B&M inverts and flyers do not make it to the top: It doesn't do anything new/


7. Dæmonen, Tivoli Gardens

Dæmonen is a B&M floorless coaster that opened in 2004. The ride was given optional up-charge VR in 2017. I went in 2018 and rode the coaster with VR. I liked the coaster's layout and it was very compact, although there wasn't much to the coaster and the VR was very bland and just seemed to be you floating around looking a a demon. The coaster is very good, although doesn't live up to the other B&M coasters on this list.


6. Galactica, Alton Towers

I love this coaster, even more since it got its space theming. I am probably the only person I know that rode and enjoyed it with the VR. It has a storyline, has set pieces and has a nice queue that gives you great views of the coaster, although some of the speakers are very loud! It isn't intense and doesn't have many inversions, but I like the relaxing feel of it compared to the other secret weapons which all have scary themes.




5. Oblivion, Alton Towers

The drop of Oblivion is yet to be beaten as one of my favourite parts of any coaster. Many people complain that it doesn't have enough to it but I don't think it needs it. I also like the theming of the coaster, with the soundtrack, logo and colour scheme fitting together to create an dark, scary atmosphere and having screens explaining the storyline. In my opinion, it fits very well with the area and the storyline of The Smiler. I think it could do with a fresh coat of paint, as well as some work on the queue to help it look cleaner and not quite as old!


4. The Swarm, Thorpe Park

What is there to say about The Swarm that I haven't said already! It's theming, location storyline, soundtrack and incredible layout just make this coaster. Similarly to Galactica, it is more relaxing than scary, still being very smooth, although the layout is very intense and has multiple inversions.


3. Nemesis, Alton Towers

I think the reason I love Nemesis so much is for its atmosphere, incredible theming and storyline. Nemesis' backstory is such a creative story that I felt was executed so well by the coaster. As well as this, the way the coaster has been designed so well, having the station in the middle so that the coaster doesn't end at the lowest point. It also looks incredible with so much of the track close to the ground.



2. Ozlris, Parc Asterix

This coaster has such an amazing layout and theming, although most of the storyline I didn't understand because it was in French! I had to watch a pov to properly remind myself of the coaster, since it was a while ago when I went on it. But, after watching it, I remembered how much I loved it because it was my first inverting roller coaster.


1. Shambhala, PortAventura

Surely the best coaster in Europe? I can say that confidently at the moment because I haven't ridden Taron, Zadra, Helix and Expedition Ge Force. I am predicting Zadra might win that title eventually, but for now it holds its title. The floater ans ejector on Shambhala are honestly incredible and its splashdown is very fun and a good way to cool off if you are coming along that pathway. The best rides I have ever had on it were rides at midnight

4 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page