top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Adventure Cove Review - 2022

Updated: Jul 24, 2022

It may have taken a year but after barely missing the opening of Drayton Manor's River Rapids I headed back to see them and they didn't disappoint! I also got to see the park's new Viking area for the first time - Review here . I also got to the rest if this area finished in general and it looked great! Here's my full review...


Rides


River Rapids - Yes, they're just called the 'River Rapids' 😭. I thought it might get a more imaginative name but apparently not. Other than that, the theming was quite creative and colourful; kinda childish but in a good way. It didn't have a particular story (more general theming) but I wouldn't say it's very easy to come up with a creative and new storyline for rapids. The soundtrack was nice, no part of the queue felt empty and the general atmosphere of this new area made it feel really busy, even though it wasn't in the slightest when we went. I think that's good?

Big question is, was it the best rapids in the UK? Short answer: Yes, it doesn't really have any competition 😂. However, when we went only like 1/3 of the water/smoke/moving factory part effects were on (which seemed a bit bizarre, it'd only been open a year), but the ones that were on at the very end and in the little themed indoor tunnel were fun. The larger set pieces seemed more random and although were cohesive, still felt quite odd. I think it's meant to be themed to a fishing village - ish, which you could mostly tell but i think the great theming of the rest of the area is the main thing that helps you understand where this ride's theming is going.


Wave Swinger - Although a cute themed wave swinger looked wonderful, I kinda feel like the could have been a tad more.. adventurous with this. Loki & Vikings has been so popular because of the novelty of a Zamperla NebulaZ and i think this area could have had that too. I'm not saying to any extent it is bad as it was fun for someone my age but also would be for other ages and the theming was pretty. But, maybe the outcomes from Adventure Cove were what made Vikings what is is, so even if it didn't reach its full potential, its successors will.


Shockwave, Storm Force 10, Air Race & Maelstrom - The 4 rides are listed as parts of adventure cove but have all been at the park for multiple years prior. I think Air Race feels a bit out of place with its plane theming but it is quite tucked in a corner and hard to see, so i don't think it matters too much. Shockwave, Maelstrom & Storm Force make up 3 of my 5 top rides in the park, which I think says enough in itself. I love these rides, for their theming and thrill factor that stands out in a newly targeted family theme park like Drayton Manor


Other than the rides, I didn't go in the food outlet but I've been told it's nice, and the general area atmosphere along with the play structure central to the area looked great and added to the family 'vibe' the area gave out.


Overall, was very impressed! I loved the River Rapids and it felt so good to see them open with such better safety restrictions. Have you been to Adventure Cove? What do you think of the new direction of Drayton Manor? Thank you so much for reading, I'll see you next time!


Cleo x

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント

コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page