top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Vikings Land Review - 2022

After weeks of waiting I finally got up to Drayton Manor to experience their new area - Vikings! This area features 4 rides and 2 food outlets (a shop and a grill area). So let's get into reviewing it! Rides: Loki - The star attraction of this area is Loki, a Zamperla NebulaZ. It's one of the first permanent installations of this model. It had cute theming that felt slightly fake and plastic-y? But nevertheless pretty and looked great. There wasn't really a fully fledged story explained in any of this area aside from 'It's a Viking land!' but with the target audience being younger I don't think it needs it too much. Speaking of this area's audience, I was expecting this flat ride to be more intense, but I'm actually glad it isn't, I think it matches Drayton Manor's new family audience much better, but it is still fun for an older audience.

Thor - The other headline attraction of the new area is Thor, a Zamperla Mega Disk'O Coaster. It was a bit less themed than the other rides in the area, but it still matched the aesthetic of the area with the cartoon-type text on the entrance sign, wooden queue fences etc. Also, why was the entrance to this behind it? Just felt a bit randomly placed.

Sleipnir - I loved this little kids ride! It was actually the only ride in this area to have a 'storyline' as such. It took you on a ride to teach you how to ride a horse and be a warrior in the Viking land. Very simple, but I loved the fact that it told at least a bit of a story. The landscaping underneath the track looked a bit like a construction site. I don't know if that's because this area is new or whether they don't plan on making this look nicer, but I feel like even just a bit of fake grass would be good. Jormungandr - Buffalo Mountain Coaster always felt very worn and old when I rode it, so I'm so glad it got a revamp! The train is probably my favourite part; it looks so shiny and new! The layout of this little coaster is surprisingly intense if you haven't done it before, but also very scenic, travelling over the lake.

Overall, the rides were great! I wish it was slightly more detailed, but nevertheless a great new area and collection of rides for Drayton Manor. This might just be because I'm not used to using an easy access pass, but I felt like across the park the easy access queues really weren't labelled very well and on quite a few rides I had to ask staff where the easy access pass queues were.

Food: There was one food outlet in this area that I didn't eat from, but I did have a little peek at the menu, so I could write about it to find there wasn't really one? There was a sign suggesting the types of food they sold that also suggested they had hot and cold drinks, but other than that, there wasn't any pricing or full menu. The food looked delicious and the little grill out the front looked lovely and matched the vibe of the area perfectly. All in all, I'm so happy to see the direction Drayton Manor are heading in, and knowing they are now slowly investing into re-doing older areas is very exciting. Have you been to Vikings Land? What did you think of it? Thank you so much for reading, I'll see you next time! Cleo x

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fantasy Island Review - 2022

Finally back! I've been on a break over closed season as it was a lot of stress starting a new year at school and getting into my gcse's....

コメント

コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page