top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Top 10 coasters - Ranking 2020

Updated: Feb 3, 2021

So, I decided to start a blog! and what better way to start than writing a top 10. My list has changed many times and it took me 2 hours to sit down and properly rank all the coasters I have been on to set this is in stone. So, without further ado, here's my top 10!


10. Wicker Man, Alton Towers.

Bringing in a strong ranking at number 10, is Wicker Man! This ride was just so overwhelmingly well themed and styled that i couldn't believe it when i saw it for the first time. In all honesty, i think it has the best theming at Alton Towers! The ride has a very intense layout yet i feel it could have done slightly more.




9. Stealth, Thorpe Park

Stealth at Thorpe Park holds a special place for me. For many years, it was the most intense coaster i had been on, even more forceful personally than Formula Rossa! Although it doesn't have any theming and has little stylisation, stealth still has a very fun atmosphere and will always be remembered by me for the many October evenings i spent at terror at amity high with the coaster roaring above us.


8. Red Force, Ferrari World

Whilst being a very similar coaster to stealth, I had a very different experience on this coaster, partly because we queued 150 minutes for it! Even after queuing that long, i still got a great front row ride on it but unfortunately didn't get any more as it was very busy since we went in august. Overall, I really liked it but i wish (the same with stealth) That it had more to the layout other than the large top hat.


7. The Swarm, Thorpe Park

The Swarm is actually my most ridden coaster of all 99 of my creds! I currently have a good 15 rides on this beauty as we usually go on it multiple times whenever i visit Thorpe. Swarm is just such a perfect all-round coaster: height, inversions, forces, near miss elements and incredible theming, amplified by an incredible soundtrack accompanied with actors at fright nights! I would rate this coaster higher if it was longer and had another attraction to extend on the storyline as it is such a cool concept!




6. Nemesis, Alton Towers

A real classic now with nemesis at Alton Towers. I love this coaster so much and will never forget the day we got an hour exclusive ERS on it in the morning and did 6 rides and each time changed set so we could work out what the best seats were! Because of Alton Towers' tree height restrictions, the coaster isn't very high, but other than that, I love it!


5. Ozlris, Parc Asterix

I was only 7 when i rode this coaster, so my memory of it is a lot worse than most of the other coasters on here, yet I ranked it higher. This is mostly as is it is taller than most uk coasters and was so impressive to young me! The coaster has extensive Egyptian theming but i don't think it has an ongoing storyline. I got 2 rides on this, only because i closed my eyes the first time so told my parents i had to go on it again. Again, a very well themed, tall, forceful coaster!


4. Icon, Blackpool Pleasure Beach

I first rode this coaster at the start of the 2019 season, in April. It was so different to anything i'd ridden before and is such a unique coaster in the UK! Its compact layout, two launches, Japanese stylisation and comfortable seats and lap bars. I am yet to ride this coaster at night, as i have only ever visited pleasure beach in spring or summer, but from what i have heard it is even better at night. I only have a few criticisms of this ride- that the launches aren't very powerful and the layout only features one inversion and i feel like they could have fitted more with the space, however, this does leave the advantage that the coaster only has a 1.3m height restriction.


3. The Smiler, Alton Towers

The Smiler was my first 1.4m coaster, and it was a good one to start with. Considering the age of it, it has gotten significantly rougher recently, but i don't think it really effects the experience. I mean, when you put 14 inversions in a single roller coaster, you know it's going to be uncomfortable! The ride has such a twisted storyline yet it has such a positive message: Smile always! It is very motivational and i love how the ride has such good theming and back story, especially in the hotel room!




2. Formula Rossa, Ferrari World

I rode formula rossa back in 2017, on a 3 week trip to the U.A.E. We spent a day in Ferrari World and a day in Yas Waterworld. This was around the first time i rode the big coasters at merlin parks for the first time. Formula rossa made the coasters at Towers and Thorpe look like vekoma slc's in comparison to this beast! Featuring the fastest launch on a roller coaster in the world, it was an incredibly intense ride, not to mention that it was in the middle of the desert, so it was boiling hot and there was sand flying at you everywhere. It doesn't have any inversions, but the speed is held for a lot of the layout making it very intense.


1. Shambhala, Portaventura

It's hard to put my love of shambhala into words. It's just so breathtaking and unbelievable that i just stood and stared. I have never been on anything with such forceful airtime and such beautiful scenery. The portaventura skyline looks so good with shambhala and dragon khan next to each other and the towering hurukan condor. The ride was finished off by spacious seating and lap bars meaning the airtime really lifted you out of your seat. I think i went into portaventura expecting a lot less than i got. It is probably my favourite park now. The coaster has such a good layout with my favourite part being the splashdown.




So, That's my top 10! It is definitely going to change once the 2021 season gets going as long as i get out of the country to some new parks. I am a very indecisive person, so this list might even change before i get on any new coasters, but, i will update it next season.


Cleo

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page