top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Top Intamin Coasters - 2021

I wrote one of these a few months ago ranking B&M coasters, so I thought I'd do Intamin today. If you know me, then you'll know I'm 100% team B&M, but that doesn't mean I dislike Intamins, they've made some incredibly innovative and creative coasters in their time. This isn't every Intamin I've done by any means, there's certainly some I've missed but I tried to cover the big bois. There's one specifically that I adore and would give anything to be riding again, but I'll mention that at the end, so let's get going!


7) Turbo Track, Ferrari World

There's a lot of Ferrari World coasters on here, as they're mostly made by Intamin. My least favourite that I went on was Turbo Track, an Intamin Shuttle coaster. The most interesting part about this coaster is it's forward AND backwards seating, leading to some very weird airtime when launching backwards over an airtime hill!? It's weird. it opened in 2017, and was mean to align with the opening of Mission Ferrari, but as we all know, that didn't happen (2021 Ferrari World?) so it isn't very old. It was really unique and was a lot of fun, but really didn't offer much other than a nice view from the top and the pop of airtime.


6) Colossus, Thorpe Park

Controversial one here, but Colossus isn't that bad. In the back few rows it can be pretty unbearable, but if you ride it from the middle forward and get it at a good time of day, it can be one of the best rides you'll have on park. I wouldn't say it's gotten worse over time as it still rides the same as it did in 2017. For that reason, it's had to go near the bottom because of it's lack of re-rideability and semi-painful rides.

5) Shockwave, Drayton Manor

Yes, Shockwave isn't B&M. It has the same design track as B&M's but was designed by Intamin. Shockwave really doesn't get enough love, but I think that's because we compare it to beasts like Nemesis and Big One because it opened in the same year as them (1994). It isn't even the best ride on park (step in Apocalypse and Maelstrom), but it's still really fun and a good first inverting coaster for younger guests.


4) Red Force, Ferrari Land

I know, in my top 10 from the end of last year this and Stealth were the other way round, but memories of the almost 4hr queue for this reminded me of the bad stuff about it. It was by no means a bad coaster, I absolutely loved it, but big juicy launch coasters and heat don't go too well for me. Also, when you look at Stealth's launch time, It's like half most big launch coasters, showing how immensely powerful it is. But that's off topic. I loved Red Force, but Stealth was better


3) Stealth, Thorpe Park

I said this in the previous one, but Stealth's launch has the most pure power of anything I've ridden (because of how fast it goes in such little time). It's so different to everything else in the UK, providing what I would call the scariest experience in the UK (maybe bar Apocalypse). It's such a staple of the UK's coaster lineup, and has probably been the biggest draw to Thorpe Park for a long time.

2) Flying Aces, Ferrari World

I said that there'd be more from this park on here, so here they are. Flying Aces was something I went into with no expectations, as in 2017 I really hadn't seen anyone who'd been out the U.A.E. So, when it was incredible, I was blown away! It's a flying coaster, but not in the sense that you ae actually on he side of the track, the trains are just wide and the outer seats are suspended out so you're not really on the track. Just a couple of my favourite things about this ride include the lap bars and comfy seats, really fast lift hill, and cool first non-inversion (the rest of the layout is pretty good too, just that's the standout). Another thing, no one talks about how beautifully themed Aces is! It's got a deep storyline with loads of detailled set pieces in the queue


*If you want to find out more about Flying Aces, I recommend COASTER BOT's video on it, they explain it better than me😂. Also they did a podcast on Intamin if you want to know more about them in general.


1) Formula Rossa, Ferrari World

You knew this would be here and I've talked about it multiple times before, but any excuse to talk about Rossa I'll take! Similarly to Aces, going into Ferrari World with little to no expectations really made me like all their coasters. And riding the world's fastest lunch coaster as your 3rd Launch coaster after Stealth and Rita made me appreciate how good they can be. I haven't done that many new ones since, but what I have learnt from them is that Intamin can do it just as well as Mack, who created beasts like Helix and Icon. Formula Rossa matches relative theming, with an incredibly forceful and intense coaster, yet it's still really re-rideable!


So that's my top Intamin Coasters! I know that 2 or 3 of these I've talked about before, but I thought it would be cool to talk more in depth about other Intamins. And it's also a way to tease my new informative blogs about manufacturers that will come out soon! Thank you for reading, and I'll see you all later,

Cleo x


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page