top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Thorpe Park Review - 2020

I went to Thorpe 4? times in 2020 (I honestly couldn't tell you exactly at this point😂) I did one trip to Oktoberfest, 2 to fright nights and then 2 in normal season. I lie then, I must have been 5😂. I don't think I've mentioned it, but no, Thorpe isn't my favourite UK park, Towers beats it by quite a bit. Not that Thorpe is bad at all, but Towers' coaster lineup is something else! Thorpe is probably my closest major UK park behind Chessington, but their both quite close for me. I'm pretty sure I rode all the Thorpe rides between my visits, so I'll try and talk about everything, so let's start!


As usual, I'll start with the coasters. In order of my favourite to least favourite, I would say: Swarm, Stealth, Saw, Colossus, Inferno, TWD and then Flying Fish. Obviously Walking Dead wasn't open this year, but hopefully it will get open again on 17th May! Swarm is my favourite Thorpe coaster, and has been since I first went. Stealth is pretty close, however Swarm is so incredibly re-rideable for a coaster of it's length and has such beautiful and creative theming and storyline. Also, it's one of the most intense coasters I've done, probably the most intense in the UK of the non launches.


Stealth is just an all round great experience. It may not have a storyline, but it has fab theming, and incredible launch and great floater over the top of the top hat. Saw is a lot more interesting. I loved it the first few times I rode it and it was one of my favourite UK coasters for a while however, over time I've gotten taller and the coaster's gotten rougher, so now I find it a bit uncomfortable. It's got one of the best told storylines that fits Thorpe perfectly; being themed to a horror film series is perfect for the thrill-based park. The only other problem with it is that it's quite, well, short. And uncomfortable. However the great theming and stunning drop make me love it😂


As you all know, I find Colossus and Inferno ok but not really standouts. I prefer the versions of them at Towers (Nemesis and Smiler!?😂) Inferno wasn't my first invert (Ozlris was), so I think that was what made it look a bit bad in comparison. It is an objectively good coaster and can ride really well, but jut doesn't really do anything over average so I don't rate it that high. (it's like the invert equivalent of B&M floorless coasters: other than the comfy seats and visual appeal, not that great😂)

Colossus is the oldest of the big 5 coasters at Thorpe, and noticeably so. It isn't insanely rough, but if you get back 2 rows you will have a headache for a few hours. However, if you get the front half of the train, it can ride really nicely and be a standout of your day. I'm a sucker for the multi-barrel roll thing near the end😂, especially in the front seats.


Thorpe park definitely has the best flat ride lineup of a UK merlin park, being home to many great ones including Samurai, Rush, Vortex, Zodiac, Detonator and Quantum. Overall, Samurai and rush are my favourites of these, being most thrilling, but also providing the best views. I'm not really gonna go too deep into these as I did my top 10 flat rides a few posts ago, so if you want to hear more about these, read that!


So, water rides, the last type of ride actually open in 2020. I rode Tidal Wave and Rumba Rapids this year (I never bothered with Storm Surge😂). Rumba Rapids was running well with never a queue over 20 mins, however I couldn't say the same for Tidal Wave. I mean it was running well, but at the peak of summer it was REALLY hot at Thorpe last year, and it got an 150-180 min queue😂😂. I don't really know what else to say about Thorpe's water ride collection, other than it's ok but is missing something (Loggers)😂


So yeah, that's Thorpe Park! I hope you enjoyed this review, It was a lot of fun to write. Overall, I'd give the park a 4/5 for the missing rides for a family audience, but other than that it's great! Have you been to Thorpe Park? What did you think of it? Thank you for reading, I'll see you all next time!

Cleo x

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page