top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Smiler Review - 2021

I'm reviewing The Smiler. You knew it would happen, just didn't think that I'd have run out of content so quickly I'd be doing it already. Fortunately, I haven't, I'm just spreading out the different types of blog to make sure I have enough ideas to keep me going😂. Let's start!

The Smiler is a Gerstlauer Infinity Coaster that opened in 2013. It (at the time of writing), has the world record for most inversions on a coaster, at 14. The coaster is almost 4,000ft long and lasts for 2:45. It replaced Black Hole, which shut many years before Smiler was built.


My favourites of all the inversions have to be the first heartline roll in the dark and the first dive loop, however, the coaster has 2 ejector hills too which are really good as well. The only ride section I find 'rough' is the cobra roll, but most cobra rolls are anyway so it was expected. (also it's pretty to take photos of😂). Speaking of which, smiler is so easy to film and take photos of as there's so much track and always trains being dispatched. Also, the majority of the queue is under the track meaning you can get some pretty cool views of it running!


Smiler's queue regularly can get quite long, so try and keep that in mind when planning when to ride it. It's worth the wait, but if you know what you're doing you can avoid the 90 min queue if you want to.


Smiler's theming is just so crazy. From the storyline to the backstory, the actual Marmaliser to the integration to oblivion's story, Smiler's theming is done magnificently. I think the main reason it, among with one or 2 other coasters on park do their theming so well is that the ride actually has a purpose in it's storyline, but also that it explains the story before/while riding so you know what is happening without reading up on it.


So, that's The Smiler! Overall, I'd score it around 8.5/10. It's storyline and ride layout are perfect, but to improve it, I'd give the track a jet wash, update the inside section of queue with screens explaining the story and I would have given the trains lap bars instead of OTSR's.


What do you think of The Smiler? If so, where does it rank for you among the other Alton Towers coasters? thank you for reading, I'll see you all next time!

Cleo x

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page