top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

PortAventura Review - 2019

In August 2019, I went to PortAventura Park and Ferrari Land in Spain. We stayed there a week and spent 4-5 days in the parks. It was one of my favourite trips I've done so far, so I thought I'd talk about it today!


PortAventura Park is home to 8 creds and a selection of flat rides, water rides and dark rides. Ferrari Land has 2 creds, 2 drop/shot towers, a simulator, a flying theatre and a few children's rides and walk throughs. The parks have the same main entrance but are 2 different gates and require different tickets, so check what you have booked before you go (I had some trouble in this respect, but I'll talk about that another day). PortAventura Park is my favourite park that I've been to currently, and I honestly had some of the best days of my life there. It was amazing.


Between the 2 parks there are 4 big coasters: Shambhala, Dragon Khan, Furius Baco and Red Force. 2 of these made my top 10 with one being my current number 1. (My top 10 came out in December, check it out!) Shambhala is a B&M Hyper and the newest of the big coasters at PortAventura Park, and is also my favourite. Red Force is similar to stealth, but almost twice as tall and much faster, however, the acceleration on stealth is really good so it's slightly better overall in my opinion.


Stampida is an interesting one. It's a fun ride and is really cool, just incredibly rough and not always worth its queue. I really like the 'theming'?😂 that they have in the first parts of the queue and the whole 'Far West' area it is in is so nice! The other Wooden coaster around Stampida is Tomohawk, a family focused smaller coaster with a bit less theming and a lot less seat space😂. It was a very nice coaster, just kinda uncomfortable sitting squashed next to the person next to you.


Furius Baco is a Launched Intamin Wing Coaster that opened in 2007. It's got an amazing launch, one of the most creative themes I've ever seen (Wine making?!😂) and comfortable seats but yet again, another coaster ruined by it's roughness but also it's long queues. In summer it's hard to get it under and hour and will normally be between 90 and 120 mins.


Dragon Khan was my 3rd favourite coaster of everything. It was a little rattly, but for an almost 30 year old B&M sit down, it was really fun! I might just have liked it cos it wasn't floorless (I dislike floorless coasters if you can't tell😂) And then Shambhala, Shambhala was incredible! Ejector and Floater aitime, intensity, height, theming, it's got it all! It also looks beautiful on the skyline next to Khan, and makes for some great photo ops!

I'm not going to go into detail of Ferrari Land as it and it's rides deserve their own review, so I'll get into the parks other rides!


Hurukan Condor is an Intamin 2nd Gen drop tower, that opened in 2005. It is probably the 2nd scariest thing I've done to date, being over 300ft high, floorless and tilted to the ground is so, so scary!😂 Spoiler for my flat ride review: It's my favourite flat ride. (Well unless Rameses counts😂), and I think it will keep that spot for a while! In terms of other flat rides, they have Serpiente, some dodgems, Kontiki, Yucatán and then Thrill towers in Ferrari Land.

They then have 5 water Rides: TuTuki Splash, Silver River Flume, Grand Canyon Rapids, Canoes and Angkor. These are all great water rides, and probably my favourite versios of their type. As well as this, they have a dark ride and 2 walkthroughs: Sesame Street Street Mission, Templo de Fuego and the mirror maze. I've talked about Street mission in my top dark rides blog so I won't go into it too much but imma be honest, it's amazing. Templo de Fuego is like half show, half scare maze but also a walkthrough. It's like something you'd find at a Universal Park.


So, that's PA! I loved this park so, so much and I really want to go back there eventually! I'm doing a Spain Travel help blog in April, so I'll talk about the parks more generally in that, but I hope this detailed look at the park was fun! I'd give the park a 4.75 / 5, I think another standout flat or good family thrill coaster would make it perfect! As always, thanks for reading, I'll see you next time!

Cleo x

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios

No se pudieron cargar los comentarios
Parece que hubo un problema técnico. Intenta volver a conectarte o actualiza la página.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page