top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

London Dungeon Review - 2021

Earlier this week, I got the chance to visit the London Dungeon for the first time in around 9 months! along with this, we got to experience brand new scene, The Dentist! In this review I will talk through each scene and some overall thoughts and potential improvements. Let's start...


The Decent:

I really like the London dungeon's decent scene, it has a great script, a perfect character always acted really well and fitting set design for the character to interact with. Being the first scene, it builds up the scare but isn't too scary.


Guy Fawkes' Gunpowder Plot:

Guy Fawkes is such a cool scene, the effects are perfection, and the way the story is based in london & is so well known by the people of london.


The Torture Chamber:

The Torture Chamber is one of my favourite dungeon scenes, being scary & hilarious at the same time. It fits with previous and future scenes well, however due to the repetitive nature of this scene, if you do London dungeons a few times or visit another dungeon with the same scene, it will more than likely be the same, which can be a bit boring :(


The Plague Doctor:

Plague doctor has my favourite designed room of the dungeons, with cool effects and models I won't go into as to not spoil it. (if you've done it you should know what I'm on about) The atmosphere & smells also add to this one, which makes it so immersive!


Escape The Great Fire of London:

Great fire of London is potentially one of the weaker scenes, I'm not really sure why as I love the concept, I just think the fire effects are a bit weak and could be made more exciting. Again, when I went this had amazing acting and it does have a fun character in the scene.


Mrs Lovett's Pie Shop:

I really like the original structure of this scene, with it being very different to others in other dungeons. I also like the use of historical and fictional stories/characters in dungeons because I personally think it makes it much more interesting.


Sweeney Todd:

As the matching scene for Mrs Lovett's, it's a similar situation to that. However, one thing that stood out with this scene was the use of sensory effects and lack of main character actor. The chair effects, videos, voice acting and intense build up make this scene so 'intimidating?' and scary


Mitre Square:

The 1st of 3 Jack the ripper scenes, Mitre Square has a cool immersive fake street and great acting. There's not much to say about this one other than the fact it's well connected to the other 2.. so on to them!


Whitechapel Labyrinth:

The London dungeon's mirror maze is definitely effective in providing a different environment/surroundings to some of the other scenes, and breaks up all the standing still. It's quite short, but if it was too long I imagine it would take up too much space/feel repetitive or boring.


Jack The Ripper:

By far the scariest scene of the London Dungeons, Jack the ripper also has what I would call the best storytelling of any of the sections, because of the use of multiple scenes about this part of the dungeon. It always used to scare me as a kid😂.


The Dentist:

New for summer 2021, The Dentist is the newest and probably my favourite london scene. Similar to sweeney todd, it plays with your senses with a mute actor, but with a voiceover. I really, really enjoyed this scene, 100% worth a trip down to the dungeons this summer if you want to check it out!


📸: London-tv


The Courtroom:

The courtroom is a very commonly used scene in the dungeons, but I love the entertainment of this scene and new script/improvised script each visit. It also fits well with the other scenes, and is always intertwined with the storyline of whichever dungeon it is in.


Escape From Newgate Prison:

Newgate prison is another mute scene. It uses strobe lighting, music and other effects to create the story without any voices/words.


Drop Dead: The Ride:

The only ride currently open in the dungeons, with The Tyrant Boat Ride currently being shut 'due to covid restrictions'. It's a fun, thrilling drop tower to end the dungeons. I think it makes a good ending, as the whole 'death' thing makes a good finish.


Overall, The London Dungeon is an incredible experience! If you want to experience all new 'The Dentist' head down the dungeons soon, it officially opens Saturday 24th July and runs until August 31st! There's a few scenes i left out, either because they're shut for covid, have little to them or are very similar to others and I can't come up with anything to say! I hoped you enjoyed reading, I'm really happy to be back! (should have 1 or 2 posts out a week for the next few months). Thanks for all the support recently, if you enjoy my posts then consider voting for me in theme park uk awards 2021! See you next time!


Cleo x





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page