top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Flamingo Land Review - 2020

After years of wanting to visit, I finally got to go to Flamingo Land in 2020. We got on all the big coasters as well as some of the smaller creds. There are 9 currently operating roller coasters and one currently being constructed- a near Colossus clone now set to open in 2021. The park didn't have all it's rides open due to social distancing restrictions, but we decided to visit as all the main coasters were open. Our trip was nearly cancelled as Lightwater Valley closed The Ultimate due to social distancing and Flamingo Land brought out their tickets very late, so we nearly didn't go, so I wasn't very clued up on the park leading to a slightly frantic trip but it was very funny😂.

There were 4 operating thrill coasters in the park: Mumbo Jumbo, Kumail, Hero and Velocity. My favourite of these was Velocity. It is a Vekoma Motorbike coaster that opened in 2005. I really enjoyed it for the powerful launch (not many of these in the UK😂) and nice, compact layout. Unsurprisingly, my least favourite thrill coaster was Hero, a Zamperla Volare. That's all I have to say. It is the roughest coaster I have EVER been on. Let's move on.😂

When we got there we found out that each coaster seemed to have a different opening time, with Hero and Velocity open at 10, Mumbo Jumbo at 11 and Kumali at 2. This ended up not happening; everything was open by 12, but it was still annoying. Kumali was enjoyable and definitely my favourite SLC I've ridden. Mumbo Jumbo felt very much like a Gerstlauer Eurofighter, just if you shrunk the whole thing to like 3 times smaller. 😂


Of the 5 other coasters, I rode 3: Runaway Mine train, Twistosaurus and Zooom. They were all great, relatively themed family coasters, offering a great alternative to the thrill coasters for younger children. But, I think the flat rides are one of the best parts of flamingo land. We didn't get in many of them as some were shut to covid, but Cliffhanger, Flip Flop, Voodoo, Navigator and Pterodactyl are all great!


There is one dark ride and 2 water rides on park, but all of them were shut when we were there due to covid restrictions. From what I've heard they're all great! Overall, Flamingo Land was an enjoyable park, but I feel like it didn't live up to the sheer amount of adverts I'd seen for it as a kid and it didn't have that e-ticket attraction. I would love to visit the park again once the new coasters opened to finish the park and have another try. I'd give the park a 3.5/5.


Have you been to Flamingo Land before? What did you think of the park?

Cleo x

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page