top of page
Writer's pictureCleodoescoasters

Black Mirror Labyrinth Review - 2021

Well, Black Mirror Labyrinth....😂 I don't really know how to describe it. I got one run-through yesterday (22nd May) and I spent a lot of the rest of the day trying to put my finger on what I genuinely thought of it as an attraction and what I would write in my review; I eventually came up with a few ideas. I'll start with a spoiler free, general review then write an in depth analysis style review with spoilers and photos, so you can read whichever one you like (or both😂) so I'll get started!


Some Background:

Black Mirror Labyrinth opened on the 21st May to the general public just after lockdowns lifted to allow indoor leisure facilities/activities. It's been under construction for around 15 months now with it having been announced in February 2020.


No Spoilers:

I think Black Mirror is overall a good attraction, with a well told storyline that can really play with your mind. It was personally a bit of a sensory overload (in a good way), but it does depend on the person how it makes you feel. In essence, the way it encapsulates you and 'your existence' is so cool and something I've never seen an attraction try to do before. The focus on technology felt very modern and in a weird way fit well in the park?! Although, I was it wasn't ANOTHER IP as there seem to be 5x more in Thorpe than there are in other merlin parks.

I love the logo(s), signage and branding, especially the tagline and the way it was displayed at the entrance. the landscaping around the front of the entrance and queue looked a bit rushed/unfinished in some places but nice in others. It ran at about 30 people per 15 min time slot with a short wait in the queue line after your ticket was scanned.


Overall, A really fun new addition that I like and is 100% worth the visit down to Thorpe to try, but I wish the money had gone further and Thorpe had shown us what they could really do. If this is as far as you're reading, I hope this little review was nice, I hope to see you again soon! If not, scroll down!





Spoilers:

Black Mirror Labyrinth. It's correct in being called a labyrinth. Before experiencing it, I compared it to an indoor scare maze minus the actors. You can get lost in there to an extent but i'm pretty sure you'll work out how to get out. I'd say that's the easiest way of explaining it but it does have a few 'show' scenes where you stay still. It doesn't have actors in btw, but it does have 'actors' to batch and question you before entering (or at least currently).


My favourite scenes were the first 2/3 rooms, they were definitely the best in terms of storytelling but also the most original compared to anything else I've ever been on. It's got 3 or 4 scenes that explain things and then sections of maze, smoke-filled corridors, mirror maze and random walkthroughs, and in these sections I'd go as far as saying they were unfinished as they were all missing ceilings and some didn't have very new-looking flooring.


On a lighter note, I love the soundtrack, other audio segements, effects and the photo system where you have your photo taken and it is then projected into certain sections of the ride.



Have you been on Black Mirror? How was your experience? Thank you all for reading, I'll see you all next time!

Cleo x

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page